Employment Regulations
Fair Labor Standards Act  (FLSA)
  • federal law passed in 1938
  • covers 4 basic areas
    • Minimum Wage
      • states can set a minimum wage higher than the federal wage
      • in Vermont  ==>  $6.25 / hour
      • low sales exception  ($500,000 annual sales)
      • tipped employee exemption
      • training wage exemption
    • Overtime Pay
      • at least time and a half for time over 40 hours per week
      • executive, administrative, and professional employees are exempt
    • Equal Pay for Equal Work
      • men and women who do the same job, or jobs that require equal skill and responsibility must be paid the same or according to the same pay schedule
    • Restrictions on Child Labor
      • minimum work age is 14
      • in Vermont minimum age is 16 unless child has an employment certificate from the state
Violations of the FLSA
  • can pursue the case with the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor
  • or, file a lawsuit against the employer seeking damages
  • Penalties can include jail and fines
Illegal Job Discrimination
  • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964
  • Remedies
    • injunction
    • an order requiring the employer to adopt a policy forbidding discrimination
    • attorney's fees
    • back pay
  • Legal Discrimination
    • Bona Fide Occupational Qualification  (BFOQ)
    • Business Necessity
Vermont Employment Laws
Tip Reporting

back to the top of this page
back to the Hospitality Law and Ethics Home Page
back to Professor Fisher's Home Page

 
this page is maintained by Reed Fisher
last updated January 15, 2011